Make up your mind

For several years, as I traveled to various cities, I took photographs of anomalies in signage. After a while, however, I found this to be an epidemic rather than a novelty because there were so many of them. Consequentially, I stopped doing it. It was not worth lugging a camera around. However, now that I have started this blog, I may resume this pursuit, but only when I find something interesting to write about. It will be easier now that I am able to take pictures with my phone.

I found many of them in department stores and large retail stores. This group stands out because the inconsistencies are within a single store. The first one (upper left) is correct on two counts. It indicates the possessive form with an apostrophe, and the apostrophe is slanted as it is supposed to be. In the next two (upper right and lower left), the text is in the plural form. The last one is in the plural possessive form, as it should be, but it uses a straight single quotation mark (indicating feet) rather than a curly apostrophe.  Is MENS the plural form of MEN? I don’t get it.

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in typography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Make up your mind

  1. Laura says:

    Inconsistencies are not restricted to signage. They’re everywhere. And I find some every day on yahoo. And the worst part is that they’re made by people who are actually paid real money to write or edit.

  2. I took the liberty of correcting your original comment and removed this one.

Leave a Reply

