Inarticulate Announcers

When I was in elementary school, one of the subjects was Speech. Not only were we taught how to speak properly through giving speeches and such, but those who had speech impediments were also referred for corrective therapy. One of the things we were taught was how to pronounce words ending in “ing” (that the “g” was silent).

It bothers me when I hear such improper speech. It bothers me more when I hear such speech coming from professional announcers. There is no excuse for it. Boo on the people who hire them. Boo boo on the people who put them on the air.

I find the one who does the voiceover on sound bites promoting CBS TV News particularly offensive because he pronounces the “ing” as “ink” when he says “… CBS New in the mornink.”

I have more pet peeves about articulation and elocution that I will present in future blogs.

UPDATE: As of 10/16/12, CBS changed their announcement. I’d like to think I had something to do with it.

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, ignorant, language, stupid and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

