Chase Bank: Small Type, Small Mind

It bothers me when service providers do not realize the importance of being able to be reached when you need their help. I have a business account at Chase.  When I opened it, they provided me with a business check card. In addition to allowing me to do a whole bunch of stuff, the card contained key information, including a phone number to allow me to reach them for assistance. This information is too small to be read without a magnifying glass.

The other day, I spoke to a representative from Chase Executive Offices. She told me that Chase has a card in large type for the visually impaired. I called today to order one and the regular representative told me that there was no such thing. Naturally, I requested a call back from the Executive Office once more. In typical bank fashion, she said she could not do that. After 15 minutes of persisting, I convinced her to arrange for someone from the executive office to call me back. She said it would take three days because they are very busy. Perhaps if Chase did a better job conducting its business, they would not have such a big backlog of problems.

Here is the phone number, enlarged significantly so it may be read without difficulty.

For comparison, here is the actual card, along with several others for comparison. The location of the phone number on each card is marked with an oval or rectangle. It can be seen that the Chase card has the smallest type, By my measurement, the type size is 4 points. In contrast, the numbers on the other cards is about 8 points or larger. Some of you may even be able to read them on your computer screen, but definitely not the Chase card. Interestingly, the number on the Costco card appears on the front as well as the back.

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, ignorant, stupid and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chase Bank: Small Type, Small Mind

  1. Alan Berkson says:

    I like the new look of the site.

Leave a Reply

