311 Acknowledgment Great; Results Not

Since the original post on November 16, my tree has been removed, but it was by luck rather than by order. On November 21 a truck came to my block to remove other trees, but the driver had no order to remove my tree. Even so, he removed it anyway. Go figure.

The people at 311 have no right to be bragging about how good they are. They may very good at corresponding but they are not so good at communicating and getting results. That’s why my downed city tree is still on my lawn.

When I reported my fallen tree to 311 on November 1, they were very quick to send a response. Since then I have received five more emails. I got an update on November 3 about when the work would be done. On November 5 they closed the case without removing the tree. I filed a new report on November 6. On November 10, I received an update about when the work would be done. On November 17, I was notified that the tree was not there and the case was closed again. So I filed a report for the third time.

As of this writing the tree is still on my lawn. If the Department of Parks has been to my house, there are several questions that need to be answered.
1. What address have they been going to?
2. Why did they not ring my doorbell when they could not find the tree?
3. Why no phone call?
4. Where is the work order showing that any work was done.
5. Why wasn’t there any investigation regarding the initial report?
6. Why did this happen twice?

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, stupid and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

