“Any Time” or “Anytime”

I had always believed that it should be two words—any time. In fact, I cringed whenever I saw it spelled as one word on No Parking signs, almost exclusively in New York City, because I thought it was wrong. Was I right? Read on!

14complaint.480

any-time

Today I checked it out and discovered that both spellings are correct. However, the choice of which spelling to use depends on the context. Here are two references:

http://forum.wordreference.com/showthread.php?t=183913
http://styleguide.yahoo.com/ask/spelling/using-anytime-instead-any-time-acceptable

According to these references, New York City is wrong. It seems that when the phrase is preceded by “at” the term must be spelled as two words. In the context of the sign, there is an implied “at” (NO PARKING AT ANY TIME).
Need I say more?

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, ignorant, language, stupid and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

