Don’t Eat the Microphone

As I watched the 2013 CMA Music Festival on TV last night, I was bothered by the fact that the professional performers do not seem to have a clue about how well microphones work.

I have been an audiophile all my life. In high school I headed up the stage crew and specialized in the use of the audio equipment. This is the kind of microphone we used in 1950 when the principal gave a speech in the auditorium.

mic-1

Audio technology has come a long way since then in terms of sensitivity, clarity, size and more. Thus, there is no good reason for performers to put mics so close to their mouths that they are practically eating them. That is unfortunate because a singer’s facial expressions can be as important to the performance as the melody and lyrics.

Since many singers do not realize this, here is what you see. For shame!mic-in-mouth

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in ignorant, stupid and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

