In or Out of Range

Do the phrases “between A and B” and “from A to B” mean the same thing.

If you take the meaning of between literally, it means “the stuff that separates two things.” Does this mean that the two things on the outside are not included?

This is how the difference may be viewed.

range

However, common usage treats them as the same. You see it all the time.

For example: “Children between the ages of 12 and 15 …”
The accepted meaning is that those who are 12 and those who are 15 are included.

To support this, I refer to a survey I took to describe my experiences at Rite Aid Pharmacy. On the question regarding  my frequency of visits, one choice was “between 2 and 4 times a month.” If the text were to be taken literally, it would mean “3 times a month,” but clearly it does not.

Between you and me, it makes no difference.

OOPS

Forgot one.

Many television meteorologists use this convoluted version.

Snow accumulations of between 3 TO 6 inches are expected.

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in language and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

