I Do Not Like “Like”

The abuse of the word “like” bothers me so much that I have set the following rules:

1. If anyone I am engaged in conversation with is an abuser of the word, I will end the conversation.

2. If the person insists on continuing the conversation, he or she may do so under the penalty of a $1.00 charge for each inappropriate use of the word. Won’t work. Nothing will.

The sad thing about the use of the word is that it has lost its true meaning when used in that context. In fact, it has no meaning at all.

To those of us who know better, there are two definitions.

a. used with reference to a person or thing of the same kind as another.
b. used to convey a person’s favorable feelings about an object or experience.

HOW DID YOU LIKE THAT!

 

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, ignorant, language, stupid, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Do Not Like “Like”

  1. Larry Mitchell says:

    like me and me sister always said, this shoulda been lied to rest a long ago, you know.

    Larry

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

