Sending the Wrong Message

voicemail

Sadly, this form of advanced technology is not working well because the users do not understand their obligation with regard to their own telephone system.

There are two problem ares. One is the recorded response of the main number of the business, and the other is prerecorded response of an individual.

Example 1:
Today I called a business and heard the following message:
“We are sorry, but the office is closed. Please call back during normal business hours.”
It ended there, without any information about the business hours. What is the caller to do? This was ironic, since I made the call during business hours.

Example 2:
I called an individual on a Friday afternoon. The recording said “I’m sorry but I am away from my desk. I will return your call as soon as I return.”

OK, so what was wrong with that? What was wrong with that is that the person had gone home for the day. Consequently, I did not receive a response until Monday morning, too late to do what I had to do. Obviously, this person did not understand the concept of “away” messages. I tried to explain what was wrong with the message, but he did not get it.

In a business, such people, particularly those in key positions, should provide alternate phone numbers for when they are not available.

Most modern telephone systems provide for multiple messages of this type. These include:
1. I’ll return your call when I return. (ambiguous).
2. I have gone for the day. (no indication of return)
3. I will return to the office on ____________ . (better)and there are many more choices.

Why don’t these people realize that the messages they record not only are ineffective but they are also misleading. For a business, this is bad customer service.

Reply with suggestions, please.

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, ignorant and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sending the Wrong Message

  1. Alan Berkson says:

    Setting — and meeting — expectations are key components of quality customer service.

Leave a Reply

