Google Docs Can Be a Nightmare to Some

Users of Google Docs beware!

cautiongoogle-docs-logo

From my recent experience, it would seem that new users of Google Docs have not studied as much as they should have BEFORE starting to use it. As I understand it, there are many benefits to using this app. BUT, there are many problems that go along with it as well.

As a graphics designer and webmaster, some of my customers have begun to send me text via Google Docs. Most of these customers have not learned how to send them in a way that is easy for me (or any other recipient) to open and read. Here is what they are doing:

They send me a link to their document via email. However, they do so without granting me permission to access it. As a consequence, I must reply to their email with a request for permission. Then, the nightmare continues. When I receive permission, I must log in to my Google account via my gmail account (both of which which I may not have).

This is quite a convoluted way to send a document. Had they looked farther into the Google Docs documentation, they would have discovered that such documents may be sent as normal attachments to a regular email, as they had been doing BEFORE they discovered this “better” way.

So much for progress.

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, ignorant and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

