A Waste of Time

I understand full well that most of my efforts to fix things via this blog are a waste of time. Ignorant people will remain in that state, primarily because they do not know it and make no effort to address it. For the most part, I find such ignorance to be presented in form of bad spelling and incorrect pronunciation.

This applies not only to the general public, but also to professionals in all areas (newspapers, television, etc.). So, why do I write about it? Mainly to just vent!

Here are some examples:

Often: I cringe every time I hear the “t” being pronounced.
Myself: Used instead of me, in most cases.
Personal pronouns: “My mother drove my sister and I to school.
Rather then: I saw that in a review of a TV show in the Internet.
Acrossed: Used by a TV news reporter.
Y’all all: Mostly used by Texans.
However: Hardly anyone knows how to use this word correctly in a sentence.

I could go on and on, but I would rather hear from my followers. Please take the time to send me your favorites.

 

 

 

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, ignorant, language, pronunciation, stupid and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

