Wrong number? Perhaps not!

If you get annoyed at receiving too many meaningless calls, you should appreciate this.

It was a call from a real person. I was not home, so my wife answered the call. The caller did not explain clearly what he wanted or to whom he wished to speak, so she said he must have called the wrong number. She hung up. A few minutes later, there was another call from the same person, and the outcome was the same.

A few days later, I called the customer service department of a company about a call I was expecting. They knew nothing about it, but sent an email to the field representative requesting that he call me. He did that today. When I asked why he never called, he said that he had called,  but the woman who answered the phone said he must have dialed the wrong number.

I asked him if he had identified himself when he called and if he had asked for me by name. No response. I asked if he checked back with the main office to confirm the phone number. He said “no” in response.

This gives further support to my contention that the world will end with a whimper rather than a bang because everything simply will stop working.

whimper

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, ignorant, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

