Printer from Hell

As a graphic designer I use a lot of commercial printers to serve my customers. Recently, however, I had the worst experience of my 30 years in business. All I wanted was 500 sheets of letterhead on particular paper with a specific color ink. But it turned into two days of chaos and frustration involving nine emails and seven phone calls.

It started out when I tried to register. The online process was not user friendly, so I had to do it by phone. I registered and placed my order, but never received a confirmation. I called again, requesting the document. After a day of waiting, I received it via fax even though I requested that email be used. The document was incomplete in that some of the order specs were missing, and so was the price.

I sent an email requesting the price and was given the wrong price, so I made another phone call. During that call I mentioned the problem with the website. The representative couldn’t care less, since it was not her area.

I also had a problem with the shipping. The address book page required a company name for the recipient, but the order was going to an individual. The  would not allow me to complete the form without it. I asked about that during one of my phone calls and was told that I should put my company name in that slot (duh).

Since I am a web designer and a programmer as well as a designer, I requested to speak to someone in the IT department. I was assured that I would receive a call. Of course, that never happened.

Another request I made was for the shipping date. I was told that it would be shipped on Tuesday, 3/27. On what calendar will you find that date?

Need I say more?

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, ignorant, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

