Me, myself and I, and other personal pronouns

It’s amazing how many people get these wrong. Don’t bother to try to learn all the complex rules of grammar. Just make it simple.

For example, how would you know that “her and myself went to the movies” was wrong? Simply separate the people. Once you hear yourself say “her went to the movies” you will realize the “she went to the movies” was the correct way. Similarly, once you hear yourself say “myself went to the movies” you will realize the “I went to the movies” was the correct way. Simply put, if they work alone, they work together.

Also,  good rule to follow is not to use “myself” when “I” or “me” will suffice.

Another common problem is thinking that using “I” sounds smarter (more sophisticated, if you will), as in “she gave the money to her and I.” Again, by separating the two pronouns, you will see that “she gave the money to I” is not correct.

Just take a moment to think before you speak. Eventually, you may learn to say these phrases correctly. However, as you may know, some people, may never learn.

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, ignorant, language, stupid and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

