Tweets Do Not Always Work Well

Note: To avoid the possibility of personal liability, specific names have been omitted.

Recently, I received a recall notice for one of my cars. As instructed, I called the dealer for an appointment. The earliest date I could get was two weeks ahead. When I asked the service manager why there was such a long wait, I was told that the manufacturer had set it up that way. When I asked the dealership owner the same question, he could not answer it but said he would look into it and get back to me. He never got back to me.

recallIn a vain attempt at trying for better results, I thought that it would be a good idea to tweet the manufacturer to inquire about the long delay. The first response I received asked me for the recall number, which I provided. The next reply asked me for my VIN number, which I provided. Then I was asked for the dealer name, and the mileage. What does mileage have to do with anything? I guess it’s in their script. This continued for over 20 or more inane tweets without getting an answer to my initial question about long delay.

When I suggested that it would be better to discuss this by phone, they asked me to provide the name of my Customer Service Manager. He is a regional person and I don’t know who he is. I only knew the name of the service manager and the dealership owner. Out of fear of jeopardizing my tenuous relationship with them, I declined to provide that information.

After I made calls to several other dealers, I discovered that the problem was universal—there is a parts shortage. I confirmed this in a phone call to the manufacturer’s customer service line as well.

I followed this with a final tweet to the car maker. “When are you going to understand your stupid, incompetent, and ignorant tirade of misinformation over the past 24 hours.”

The answer I got was “I get what you’re saying. Have a nice evening.”

Where do companies get employees like this?

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, ignorant, stupid and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

