The Blame Game

Technical support issues that go across platforms are an interesting challenge.

Over the last few weeks, I have had problems sending emails to some customers. As a graphics designer, the inability to communicate effectively with my customers has been a very frustrating problem. The most serious aspect of it was that emails that were undelivered were not returned to me promptly, as they usually are. Some emails were not returned until the next day; some took two days to be returned.

mail-delivery

There are three entities involved with my email:
1. GoDaddy, my email provider
2. Verizon, my ISP
3. Thunderbird, my email client.

When I first reached out to them for help, this is what I got.blameThunderbird suggested I change the outgoing port. I did that, but the problem of delayed non-delivery response persisted. Also, they did not have the capability to receive my rejected emails for examination. They asked for remote access to my computer, but I elected not to do that. When I reached out to GoDaddy, all they did was to confirm my server settings and referred me to my ISP.

At first try, Verizon was no help either. They said that no problems were detected on their path. I persisted by sending them the error messages. Initially, they thought that my email was being blacklisted, but discovered that it was not. Then they inquired about my incoming and outgoing server settings. As it turned out, the server settings I was using were provided by GoDaddy. The Verizon technician recommended that I change them to the ones used by Verizon. Behold! It worked!

What I found was that calls to technical support are a crap shoot. Unless you get someone with a lot of experience, the representative can only rely on a script and a limited amount of training to resolve your issue. This particular rep went the extra mile for me and stayed on the phone with me for almost an hour.

My question, and the reason for today’s blog, is “Why don’t technology companies understand that when their products interface with those of others, playing the blame game is unacceptable?”

Technical support cannot be of service from a bubble!

tech-bubble

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, ignorant, stupid and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Blame Game

  1. Alan Berkson says:

    Great post! What were the settings Verizon told you to use?

Leave a Reply

