More Bad Customer Service

In recent months, I have had three disappointing experiences with customer service personnel.

The first one concerned my physician. I was given a medical device that I was to use at home. Let me emphasize: “given to me.” I did not buy or rent it. It did not work for me so I returned it to the physician’s office. Even so, I kept seeing a monthly charge on my Medicare statement. When I called the equipment provider, they had no record of the return. Of course not. The physician’s office manager never notified them. The staff there also had no record of the return. It took more than two months to clear this up.

Number two: In November I called my bank to stop payment on a cashier’s check. The call center explained what I should do and agreed to issue the stop payment order. A month later, the money (almost $5,000) was still not back in my account. When I telephoned the bank’s call center, they could find no record of my call. So I asked them to check the phone recordings, since all calls are recorded “for quality control purposes.” They could not find the recording. I did not give up. I filed a complaint with my state banking department and also wrote a letter to the bank president. I am still waiting for a resolution.

Number three: I am a webmaster. I had trouble reaching the site that I manage. I called my Internet provider and he logged on to my computer in a remote session. He located the point at which my connection was being blocked (including all of the gateways and the name of the site that site that could not be accessed. A few days later, I got a call from a representative of the Internet provider. He asked me for name of the website I was trying to access. That was a key piece of information that the original technician failed to provide. Duh!

I fixed it myself.

Enough said.

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

