Feb-U-ary is Coming Again

During my TV viewing, I have seen many promotional pieces announcing new shows coming up next month, in the month of Feb-u-ary. In fact, most people pronounce it that way.

I checked it out.

As I saw on recently on Google, “In the United States, the most common pronunciation is feb-yoo-air-ee. Both Merriam-Webster and American Heritage dictionaries consider the common pronunciation correct, along with the less common, more traditional standard feb-roo-air-ee.”

Like it or not, that’s the way it is.

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, language, pronunciation, stupid and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

