Electronic Monopoly Game — Bad Idea

I read in today’s newspaper about the new electronic version of Monopoly.

monopoly-electronic

When I played Monopoly as a child, the game not only was not only was fun but is was also educational because it required me to do arithmetic. It was the same for my three sons.

monopoly-money

We counted money, computed rent and penalties, paid mortgages, and the like. However, the new electronic version takes away all of that. I don’t think that is a good thing.

monopoly-ultimate-atm

The use of calculators detracts from the educational benefit and also removes the tactile aspect by eliminating paper money. Having to keep track of the paper money, while being a bit messy, was a lot of fun.

I understand the maker’s profit motive, but I am disappointed in the loss of educational benefit. The use of electronics for simple calculations that could be done mentally is a bad idea.

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in ignorant, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

