Staples “Easy Button” is Still Broken

Today I visited my local Staples store hoping for a better experience than the last several times, but it did not happen. The “Easy Button” still does not work.

staples-art

I patronize that store because it is convenient, so I am willing to put up with the nonsense that goes with it. Otherwise, I go online to Amazon.

On this visit, I wanted to buy some cardboard mailing tubes.

mailing tubes

They come in several different lengths and diameters. I needed two 24-inch-long tubes, one with a 2″ diameter and one with a 3″ diameter.

When I got to the aisle with the tubes, I could only find the 24″ tubes with a 2″ diameter. When I asked a clerk for help, he went to the rack and proceeded to read the labels on each tube even though it could be readily seen that they all were the same size. You can see the size clearly in the diagram. The 2″ tube is third from the top. The 3″ versions next to it are easily recognizable. He also read each of the labels on the much longer 36″ tubes, even though the size difference was quite obvious.

After a pause, the clerk said that they were out of stock. Unfazed, I sought out the store manager who suggested that the clerk check the storage area. Why didn’t the clerk think of that? Poor training!

The clerk eventually returned with the long lost 3″ tube (only one). It never occurred to him to bring up more tubes to replenish the rack.

Who hired this guy?

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, ignorant, stupid and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

