I Found a Workaround

As most computer users know, Apple does not support Flash Player. If you really need to know why, check it out for yourself.

flash apple-logo

As a graphics designer, this has been a problem for me in designing website, since they have to have full functionality in the Apple world as well as on PCs. The biggest problem for me was slide shows. They are easy to create with the aid of Flash Player. However, they could not seen on Apple devices such as iPhones, iPads, and the like if they required Flash.

To create a slide show that would work on all devices would require the use of JavaScript and a whole bunch of other HTML coding that was too much for this octogenarian.

java

It was hard enough for me to master Adobe Dreamweaver software, which is mostly WYSIWYG (the coding is created automatically),  but the product does not support the complete process of creating the slide show itself.

dreamweaver

As an alternative. I created a simple slide show of photographs in the format of an automated GIF file. This type of file contains multiple frames of images that may be scrolled through. I purchased an inexpensive product that allowed me to set the few basic parameters I needed (e.g, frame size, sequence, time delay, looping). Then, I simply inserted that file into my web page as an image, using Dreamweaver, of course.

I am relieved that, after months of struggling, I found something that works for me. My customers are happy as well.

relieved

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in self taught and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Found a Workaround

  1. Mark Berkson says:

    Not bad for an octogenarian!!!
    I bet the answers came to you in your sleep.

Leave a Reply

