Just Venting

I understand that language evolves as changes in word usage occur. However, there are some new ways that words are used that I refuse to accept.

To me, the word “grow” should apply only to living things, like vegetables. You do not use water, soil, and fertilizer to grow your business.

To me, “momentarily” will always mean for a moment, not in a moment. Right: He paused momentarily before entering the room. Wrong: He will be here momentarily.

However, my intolerance regarding language is not absolute. I accept that inflammable (meaning it will burn) was changed to flammable because the prefix “in” implies a negative, as in inaccurate.

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, ignorant, language, stupid and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

