Customer Service Mixed Results

First, the bad part, then the good part.

Recently, I purchased a gas barbecue grill at Lowe’s in Rosedale, NY. I needed a grill that would run on natural gas. The staff member that assisted me stated that the grills I was interested in were made to work using propane, but that I could convert one to natural gas with a conversion kit. I purchased both, plus a delivery charge. Assembly was free, but conversion was not available.

When the grill arrived, I hired a person to install the conversion kit. After struggling with it for a long while, he called Lowe’s for guidance. He was told that grill was not suitable for conversion.

I called the store several times over a three-day period before being able to reach someone who could help me. On most occasions, the phone rang several times with no answer from the operator. When I finally reached an operator, she transferred my call to the store manager, but he never picked up.

After many more calls, I was able to reach an assistant manager. I requested a full refund, plus reimbursement for the $100 charge to the man who tried unsuccessfully to install the conversion kit. He only offered a refund for the merchandise.

This was unsatisfactory, so I tried to send a fax. That fax call was answered with a message saying that “This service is not available.”

Now comes the good part.

My next step was to call the corporate customer service number. In that call I requested that they contact the store for me an have the manager call me.

Within 10 minutes, the manager called me. After I explained everything to him, he was very apologetic. In fact he seemed annoyed at how badly this was handled by his staff. He offered to replace the grill as follows:

1- No additional charge, even if the new model would be more expensive
2- Full assembly, including the conversion kit.
3- No charge for picking up the old grill and delivering the new one.

Although it was a struggle, I was finally made whole.

 

 

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Customer Service Mixed Results

  1. hedy says:

    Lookin’ good Uncle Stan! Enjoy your grill!

Leave a Reply

