Lights on, Please!

I don’t get it. Why are there so many drivers who do not have the sense to turn on their headlights at night?

no-headlights

I see a lot of this at dusk, and that is understandable. However, the other night, I was driving around midnight and there still were cars with no lights on.

Many new cars have headlights that go on automatically when it gets dark. Some even have a feature that turns headlights on during the day, when wipers are turned on.

But what can be done about those drivers who are oblivious to the fact that they are driving at night with their headlights off.

I have suggested that radio stations remind drivers to turn their lights on when it is appropriate, but that has not happened.

It used to be that you could flash your brights to let a driver know to turn on his lights. That, however, is illegal in some states because it is considered as a 911 call.

What can be done? Police are eager to stop those who speed or go through red lights. Why don’t they ticket drivers for failing to have their lights on or when their wipers are on?

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, ignorant and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.