Staples is NOT EASY!

As a graphics designer, I found Staples convenient for shopping for my needs for paper, printer ink, and other supplies. I could order online or take a short trip to a local store. Well, I’m not doing that any more.

I found that their prices for most of my needs were at least double what I could pay elsewhere. When I complained to the company about this, they pointed out their price matching policy. However, I found that policy to be quite limited and very restrictive. I wrote to them about it and here is their response.

Dear Mr. Berkson:

Thank you for taking the time contact Staples concerning the pricing of items at Staples. Your comments are greatly appreciated; as they allow us to improve the quality of products provided to our customers.

I have shared your feedback with Merchandising Executive Management Team; be assured, we will continue to work with all of our vendors to provide our customers with the best pricing product possible.

We hope that you will remain a valued Staples customer and look forward to serving your future office supply needs.

Sincerely,
Richard Clarke
Office of the President
Staples, Inc.
richard.clarke@staples.com

My answer to that was “NO THANK YOU.” Not only is the price-matching policy restrictive, but it is also difficult to utilize. It is much easier to go straight to Amazon.

After I post this blog I am going to send an email to Mr. Clarke with this URL.

staples-art

 

About stanleygraphics

I am a veteran graphic designer who started at the time when cut and paste meant an X-acto knife and rubber cement. I use my experience to educate others. I have an intolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in annoying, ignorant, stupid and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.